Sign in / Join

Watch Paramore channel the 80s in ‘Hard Times’

After what felt like weeks of teasing from camp Paramore, the band has finally unveiled what they had hiding up their sleeves. On Wednesday (April 19), the Tennessee-founded band announced that they will be releasing their fifth studio album next month. The new album, which has been titled After Laughter, is set to be released on May 12 through Fueled By Ramen.

In addition to updating fans on the name of the impending release, giving them the 12-song track listing, unveiling the album art, and confirming the release date, the trio has also premiered the music video for its lead single, "Hard Times." The over-three-minute clip features the band performing in a technicolor world that gives some serious 1980s vibes. As for the song itself, it doesn’t quite sound like what Paramore fans were probably expecting from the act. At first listen, it doesn’t quite seem to make an impression, but after several listens, it does begin to sound like something you can blast through your speakers and dance around to all summer long.

Watch the music video for "Hard Times" above.

Pre-orders for After Laughter are currently available on Paramore’s website and will include an instant download of the new tune. After Laughter marks the band’s first new set of songs since the release of 2013’s Paramore.

The record will also mark the first album to feature the band’s new lineup of Hayley Williams, Taylor York, and Zac Farro. Last year, rumors began to circulate that Farro was returning to the band after a slew of images posted by the other Paramore members made their way onto social media. For months, his status with the group was unknown, but in early 2017, things changed when the band confirmed that Farro was once again an official member of Paramore.

For now, check out the track listing for After Laughter below.


01. "Hard Times"
02. "Rose-Colored Boy"
03. "Told You So"
04. "Forgiveness"
05. "Fake Happy"
06. "26"
07. "Pool"
08. "Grudges"
09. "Caught in the Middle"
10. "Idle Worship"
11. "No Friend"
12. "Tell Me How"